Institution evidence record Official sources

Slaughter and May: what the official sources say about selection

10 dated facts (signals) from 3 official source records, observed between 9 September 2026 and 16 September 2026. An evidence record lists what the register holds for one institution; it is not a dossier and it does not describe a complete selection process.

Markets recorded: London. Categories: Live judgement; Whole-person evaluation; University grade requirement; Application limits; Conversion route; School-level grades; Selection stages; Application timing and deadlines and others.

LimitThe signals below are what Slaughter and May published on the observation dates, coded one programme, market and date at a time. They do not establish hidden screening criteria, university weighting, acceptance odds or a universal process across offices.

At a glance · AI rules for candidates · checked 23 September 2026

What Slaughter and May tells candidates about using AI

Written application

Allowed with limitsWe understand that AI tools like ChatGPT can be useful, however, we strongly advise you not to copy and paste AI-generated text into your application.Official source

Online tests

Not stated

Interviews

Not stated

Final-stage tasks

Not stated

Employer's own AI use

Not stated

Human decision

Not stated

AI Rules Tracker v2.0 · official candidate-facing pages only · scope: London, Early careers online application. Compare all 67 employers · law view · Report a correction

Market not stated in the frozen record

2 signals

SIG-020 Official source Slaughter and May

Training-contract interviews include discussion of a recent current-affairs article supplied on the day.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceA key part of the interview will involve a discussion based on a recent current affairs article which will be provided to you on the day.

Live judgement · Observed 9 September 2026 · Verified 9 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-020 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

SIG-021 Official source Slaughter and May

The firm looks for written and verbal communication, teamwork and resilience under pressure.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceGood communication skills (verbal and written) are vital for our lawyers, so it's something we look for in our application and interview process. Our collaborative culture also means that we look for candidates who can demonstrate that they can work successfully in teams.

Whole-person evaluation · Observed 9 September 2026 · Verified 9 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-021 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

London

8 signals

SIG-866 Official source Slaughter and May

Slaughter and May's current official Apply page states a degree requirement of a strong 2:1, ideally a minimum of 65% and above.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceUndergraduate degree (and postgraduate degree if applicable): Strong 2:1, ideally a minimum of 65% and above

London · Early careers (training contract and work experience) · University grade requirement · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-021 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

SIG-867 Official source Slaughter and May

Slaughter and May's current official Application FAQs state that unsuccessful training contract applicants are unlikely to succeed on reapplication without a significant development.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceThose who have had an unsuccessful training contract application are unlikely to be successful in a subsequent application unless there has been a significant development which alters their application.

London · Training Contract · Application limits · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-334 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

SIG-868 Official source Slaughter and May

Slaughter and May's current official Application FAQs state that training contract interviews are offered at the end of summer schemes.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceYes, we offer training contract interviews at the end of our summer schemes.

London · Summer Work Experience Scheme · Conversion route · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-334 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

SIG-869 Official source Slaughter and May

Slaughter and May's current official Apply page states an A-level requirement of AAB, excluding EPQ, or equivalent.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceA-levels: AAB (not including EPQ) or equivalent

London · Early careers (training contract and work experience) · School-level grades · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-021 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

SIG-870 Official source Slaughter and May

Slaughter and May's current official Application FAQs state that training contract and summer scheme interviews are in person at the London office.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceOur training contract and summer work experience scheme interviews take place in person at our London office.

London · Training Contract / Summer Work Experience · Selection stages · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-334 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

SIG-871 Official source Slaughter and May

Slaughter and May's current official Apply page encourages summer work experience applications as early as possible within the window.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceWe encourage summer work experience applications as early as possible within our application window.

London · Summer Work Experience Scheme · Application timing and deadlines · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-021 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

SIG-872 Official source Slaughter and May

Slaughter and May's current official Apply page states that the Rare Contextual Recruitment System is used across all early careers recruitment.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceWe use the Rare Contextual Recruitment System across all our early careers recruitment activity.

London · Early careers (all) · University access · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-021 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

SIG-873 Official source Slaughter and May

Slaughter and May's current official Apply page states that graduates from 50+ universities work at the firm.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceWe aim to employ the brightest minds regardless of what or where they have studied - you will find graduates from 50+ universities at Slaughter and May.

London · Early careers (all) · University access · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-021 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

Cite this object

Who Gets In? (Elite Careers Strategy), Slaughter and May selection evidence record, revised 27 September 2026, https://whogetsin.com/institutions/slaughter-and-may

Preserve the institution, programme, geography, observation date and limitation. Do not generalise a single signal to an institution-wide or sector-wide rule.

CITATION.cff

Evidence behind this page

10 dated facts (signals), observed between 9 September 2026 and 16 September 2026

Every signal this page cites, with the observation as coded, the passage recorded against the official page, the observation date and the source. Follow a signal ID for its full record; follow the source for the live page.

SIG-020 Official source Slaughter and May

Training-contract interviews include discussion of a recent current-affairs article supplied on the day.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceA key part of the interview will involve a discussion based on a recent current affairs article which will be provided to you on the day.

Live judgement · Observed 9 September 2026 · Verified 9 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-020 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

SIG-021 Official source Slaughter and May

The firm looks for written and verbal communication, teamwork and resilience under pressure.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceGood communication skills (verbal and written) are vital for our lawyers, so it's something we look for in our application and interview process. Our collaborative culture also means that we look for candidates who can demonstrate that they can work successfully in teams.

Whole-person evaluation · Observed 9 September 2026 · Verified 9 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-021 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

SIG-866 Official source Slaughter and May

Slaughter and May's current official Apply page states a degree requirement of a strong 2:1, ideally a minimum of 65% and above.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceUndergraduate degree (and postgraduate degree if applicable): Strong 2:1, ideally a minimum of 65% and above

London · Early careers (training contract and work experience) · University grade requirement · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-021 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

SIG-867 Official source Slaughter and May

Slaughter and May's current official Application FAQs state that unsuccessful training contract applicants are unlikely to succeed on reapplication without a significant development.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceThose who have had an unsuccessful training contract application are unlikely to be successful in a subsequent application unless there has been a significant development which alters their application.

London · Training Contract · Application limits · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-334 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

SIG-868 Official source Slaughter and May

Slaughter and May's current official Application FAQs state that training contract interviews are offered at the end of summer schemes.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceYes, we offer training contract interviews at the end of our summer schemes.

London · Summer Work Experience Scheme · Conversion route · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-334 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

SIG-869 Official source Slaughter and May

Slaughter and May's current official Apply page states an A-level requirement of AAB, excluding EPQ, or equivalent.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceA-levels: AAB (not including EPQ) or equivalent

London · Early careers (training contract and work experience) · School-level grades · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-021 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

SIG-870 Official source Slaughter and May

Slaughter and May's current official Application FAQs state that training contract and summer scheme interviews are in person at the London office.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceOur training contract and summer work experience scheme interviews take place in person at our London office.

London · Training Contract / Summer Work Experience · Selection stages · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-334 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

SIG-871 Official source Slaughter and May

Slaughter and May's current official Apply page encourages summer work experience applications as early as possible within the window.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceWe encourage summer work experience applications as early as possible within our application window.

London · Summer Work Experience Scheme · Application timing and deadlines · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-021 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

SIG-872 Official source Slaughter and May

Slaughter and May's current official Apply page states that the Rare Contextual Recruitment System is used across all early careers recruitment.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceWe use the Rare Contextual Recruitment System across all our early careers recruitment activity.

London · Early careers (all) · University access · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-021 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

SIG-873 Official source Slaughter and May

Slaughter and May's current official Apply page states that graduates from 50+ universities work at the firm.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceWe aim to employ the brightest minds regardless of what or where they have studied - you will find graduates from 50+ universities at Slaughter and May.

London · Early careers (all) · University access · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-021 (slaughterandmay.com) · source record

Corpus release SIG-001..SIG-1004 · signal register · source register · methodology

This page: revised . Corpus: 1004 dated facts (signals) from 383 official source records, last canonical update . Release notes