Institution evidence record Official sources Atlas priority institution

HSBC: what the official sources say about selection

10 dated facts (signals) from 3 official source records, observed between 13 September 2026 and 16 September 2026. An evidence record lists what the register holds for one institution; it is not a dossier and it does not describe a complete selection process.

Markets recorded: Global. Categories: AI preparation and application; AI restriction - interview; Student and graduate selection architecture; Academic degree requirement; University grade requirement; Application limits; Eligibility; University access.

LimitThe signals below are what HSBC published on the observation dates, coded one programme, market and date at a time. They do not establish hidden screening criteria, university weighting, acceptance odds or a universal process across offices.

At a glance · AI rules for candidates · checked 23 September 2026

What HSBC tells candidates about using AI

Written application

Allowed with limitsHelp structure your CV or application, provided the content accurately reflects your own experience and skills.Official source

Online tests

General authenticity rule onlySubmit work that you cannot personally explain, validate, or replicate if asked during the recruitment process.Official source

Interviews

ForbiddenGenerate responses during live or recorded interviews.Official source

Final-stage tasks

Not stated

Employer's own AI use

Discloses its own AI useNo, the AI-based platform does not make any automated decisions in the hiring process.Official source

Human decision

States that humans decideAll decisions will be made by our hiring team.Official source

AI Rules Tracker v2.0 · official candidate-facing pages only · scope: Global, Not stated (general recruitment). Compare all 67 employers · banks view · Report a correction

Global Selection Atlas evidence state by hub

Limit"Partial" means evidence exists but is not programme-level for that hub. "Not yet evidenced" is a research gap, not evidence of absence. A dossier is promoted only where the evidence is deep enough for bounded cross-market comparison; this record is not a dossier.

Global

10 signals

SIG-177 Official source HSBC

HSBC states that candidates may use generative AI to research HSBC and roles, help structure a CV or application where the content accurately reflects their own experience and skills, prepare for interviews, and organise or draft ideas where the final submission remains genuinely their own.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceAcceptable GenAI use includes research, structuring a CV or application, interview preparation and organising or drafting ideas, provided the content remains accurate and genuinely the candidate's own.

Global · Recruitment process · AI preparation and application · Observed 13 September 2026 · Verified 13 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-113 (hsbc.com) · source record

SIG-178 Official source HSBC

HSBC states that candidates must not use generative AI to generate responses during live or recorded interviews and must not submit work they cannot personally explain, validate or replicate if asked during recruitment.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceUnacceptable GenAI use includes generating responses during live or recorded interviews and submitting work the candidate cannot personally explain, validate or replicate.

Global · Recruitment interviews · AI restriction - interview · Observed 13 September 2026 · Verified 13 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-113 (hsbc.com) · source record

SIG-179 Official source HSBC

HSBC's current student and graduate application guide publishes a three-step process of online application, a 90-minute online assessment and a three-hour assessment centre, called Super Days in the US; insight and work-experience programmes usually use an online interview at stage three instead.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceThree-step process: 10-15 minute online application, 90-minute online assessment, and three-hour assessment centre (Super Days in the US); insight and work-experience programmes usually use an online interview for stage three.

Global · Students and graduates · Student and graduate selection architecture · Observed 13 September 2026 · Verified 13 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-114 (hsbc.com) · source record

SIG-582 Official source HSBC

HSBC's current official student FAQ states that over 60 per cent of students who join do not have a background in finance.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceOver 60 per cent of the students that join us don't have a background in finance

Global · Students and graduates programmes (FAQs) · Academic degree requirement · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-253 (hsbc.com) · source record

SIG-583 Official source HSBC

HSBC's current official Application guide states that in general it is interested in behavioural and cognitive skills rather than what a candidate studied.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceIn general, we're interested in your behavioural and cognitive skills, not what you studied.

Global · Students and graduates programmes (Application guide) · Academic degree requirement · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-114 (hsbc.com) · source record

SIG-584 Official source HSBC

HSBC's current official student FAQ states that academic requirements vary depending on the programme and location.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceAcademic requirements vary depending on the programme and location you're interested in.

Global · Students and graduates programmes (FAQs) · University grade requirement · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-253 (hsbc.com) · source record

SIG-585 Official source HSBC

HSBC's current official student FAQ answers the question whether candidates can apply for more than one programme with a no.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceSadly not, but we have lots of support to help you decide which programme to apply to.

Global · Students and graduates programmes (FAQs) · Application limits · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-253 (hsbc.com) · source record

SIG-586 Official source HSBC

HSBC's current official student FAQ states that candidates who applied in a previous recruitment cycle and year can apply again.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceIf you applied in a previous recruitment cycle and year, then yes, you can apply again.

Global · Students and graduates programmes (FAQs) · Application limits · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-253 (hsbc.com) · source record

SIG-587 Official source HSBC

HSBC's current official student FAQ states that its ability to sponsor visas depends on country legal requirements and business need.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceOur ability to sponsor visas is dependent on country legal requirements and business need.

Global · Students and graduates programmes (FAQs) · Eligibility · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-253 (hsbc.com) · source record

SIG-996 Official source HSBC

HSBC's current official students and graduates FAQ page states that it runs events for potential applicants worldwide, including at universities.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceWe run events for potential applicants worldwide, in our offices, at universities and other locations, and online.

Global · Students and graduates (events) · University access · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-253 (hsbc.com) · source record

Official sources

Cite this object

Who Gets In? (Elite Careers Strategy), HSBC selection evidence record, revised 27 September 2026, https://whogetsin.com/institutions/hsbc

Preserve the institution, programme, geography, observation date and limitation. Do not generalise a single signal to an institution-wide or sector-wide rule.

CITATION.cff

Evidence behind this page

10 dated facts (signals), observed between 13 September 2026 and 16 September 2026

Every signal this page cites, with the observation as coded, the passage recorded against the official page, the observation date and the source. Follow a signal ID for its full record; follow the source for the live page.

SIG-177 Official source HSBC

HSBC states that candidates may use generative AI to research HSBC and roles, help structure a CV or application where the content accurately reflects their own experience and skills, prepare for interviews, and organise or draft ideas where the final submission remains genuinely their own.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceAcceptable GenAI use includes research, structuring a CV or application, interview preparation and organising or drafting ideas, provided the content remains accurate and genuinely the candidate's own.

Global · Recruitment process · AI preparation and application · Observed 13 September 2026 · Verified 13 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-113 (hsbc.com) · source record

SIG-178 Official source HSBC

HSBC states that candidates must not use generative AI to generate responses during live or recorded interviews and must not submit work they cannot personally explain, validate or replicate if asked during recruitment.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceUnacceptable GenAI use includes generating responses during live or recorded interviews and submitting work the candidate cannot personally explain, validate or replicate.

Global · Recruitment interviews · AI restriction - interview · Observed 13 September 2026 · Verified 13 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-113 (hsbc.com) · source record

SIG-179 Official source HSBC

HSBC's current student and graduate application guide publishes a three-step process of online application, a 90-minute online assessment and a three-hour assessment centre, called Super Days in the US; insight and work-experience programmes usually use an online interview at stage three instead.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceThree-step process: 10-15 minute online application, 90-minute online assessment, and three-hour assessment centre (Super Days in the US); insight and work-experience programmes usually use an online interview for stage three.

Global · Students and graduates · Student and graduate selection architecture · Observed 13 September 2026 · Verified 13 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-114 (hsbc.com) · source record

SIG-582 Official source HSBC

HSBC's current official student FAQ states that over 60 per cent of students who join do not have a background in finance.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceOver 60 per cent of the students that join us don't have a background in finance

Global · Students and graduates programmes (FAQs) · Academic degree requirement · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-253 (hsbc.com) · source record

SIG-583 Official source HSBC

HSBC's current official Application guide states that in general it is interested in behavioural and cognitive skills rather than what a candidate studied.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceIn general, we're interested in your behavioural and cognitive skills, not what you studied.

Global · Students and graduates programmes (Application guide) · Academic degree requirement · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-114 (hsbc.com) · source record

SIG-584 Official source HSBC

HSBC's current official student FAQ states that academic requirements vary depending on the programme and location.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceAcademic requirements vary depending on the programme and location you're interested in.

Global · Students and graduates programmes (FAQs) · University grade requirement · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-253 (hsbc.com) · source record

SIG-585 Official source HSBC

HSBC's current official student FAQ answers the question whether candidates can apply for more than one programme with a no.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceSadly not, but we have lots of support to help you decide which programme to apply to.

Global · Students and graduates programmes (FAQs) · Application limits · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-253 (hsbc.com) · source record

SIG-586 Official source HSBC

HSBC's current official student FAQ states that candidates who applied in a previous recruitment cycle and year can apply again.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceIf you applied in a previous recruitment cycle and year, then yes, you can apply again.

Global · Students and graduates programmes (FAQs) · Application limits · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-253 (hsbc.com) · source record

SIG-587 Official source HSBC

HSBC's current official student FAQ states that its ability to sponsor visas depends on country legal requirements and business need.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceOur ability to sponsor visas is dependent on country legal requirements and business need.

Global · Students and graduates programmes (FAQs) · Eligibility · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-253 (hsbc.com) · source record

SIG-996 Official source HSBC

HSBC's current official students and graduates FAQ page states that it runs events for potential applicants worldwide, including at universities.

Evidence passage recorded against the sourceWe run events for potential applicants worldwide, in our offices, at universities and other locations, and online.

Global · Students and graduates (events) · University access · Observed 16 September 2026 · Verified 16 Sep 2026 · Source SRC-253 (hsbc.com) · source record

Corpus release SIG-001..SIG-1004 · signal register · source register · methodology

This page: revised . Corpus: 1004 dated facts (signals) from 383 official source records, last canonical update . Release notes